Separating Wind and Bubble Wheel

I decided to try to separate wind and bubble wheel, connected with a belt, making it possible to

  • have a larger surface area for the wind wheel
  • have the bubble wands dive deeper into the tank, thus hopefully reducing the amount of spilling, while having a larger reservoir of bubble fluid
  • gain mechanical advantage by using different sized pulleys

second_ideaAn obvious problem is the friction of the belt transmission. A gear train would be even worse and would add more wind turbulences. At first I wanted to use a large rubber band for the transmission, but a friend suggested the tension would add too much friction, so I will go for some GT2 tooth belt I still have left in the drawer. I found a collection of parametric pulleys here, creating these two pulleys:

small_pulley large_pulleyThey’re supposed to be fixed on the shaft with an M3 screw and a captured nut. I did the same on my new bubble wheel and wind wheel:

bubble_wheel_2wind_wheel_2Trying to print that larger wind wheel (diameter of 160mm) unfortunately turns out tricky — I don’t know what’s wrong with my design, but both Cura and Slic3r decide to slice incomplete layers, the wings oscillating between their full width and getting to small in the middle, leaving a gap:

slicing-problemI have no idea what causes this, but for sure it is a problem of my design, which I actually liked for the simplicity of OpenSCAD:

linear_extrude(height=wing_height, twist=50) {
  for(rot = [0, 60, 120, 180, 240, 300]) {
    rotate([0,0,rot])
      translate([inner_dia/2-2,-spoke_width/2])
      square([(ring_dia-inner_dia)/2+2, spoke_width]);
  }
}

Well, for now I managed to print one by simply using a higher spoke_width of 2.8mm, but I still wonder what caused this … and even that had a sad ending midprint.

I think I’m frustrated for now, just in time to spend two weeks of vacation in Austria, thoroughly clean that nozzle and then try again …

2 Gedanken zu “Separating Wind and Bubble Wheel

  1. Hi,
    finde deine Idee ziemlich gut und wollte fragen, ob du die Einzelteile auch als Set verkaufst (also die gedruckten Teile, nicht das Brett und die Schrauben).
    Beste Grüße, Ulf

    Gefällt mir

    • Danke! Die gedruckten Einzelteile selbst verkaufen kann ich leider nicht, weil mein (selbstgebauter) 3D-Drucker nicht das zuverlässigste Gerät ist: überall gucken Kabel raus und ich würde ihn nie laufen lassen, wenn ich nicht zuhause und wach bin; und da z.B. der Tank zum Drucken ca. 7 Stunden braucht, ist es für mich nicht einfach, große Druckjobs außerhalb des Wochenendes zu planen.
      Wenn Du keinen 3D-Drucker hast, aber so ein Ding bauen möchtest, kannst Du mal auf http://www.3dhubs.com gucken, ob es einen 3D-Drucker-Besitzer in Deiner Nähe gibt, der es gegen Geld für Dich drucken würde. Ich habe aber keine Erfahrung damit, was das kostet — für meinen Eigenbedarf ist der Druck recht billig, weil ich mein Gerät ja aus Spaß habe und keine Abschreibung kalkuliere. Wenn Du die Sachen drucken lassen willst, findest Du die Dateien hier: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:950452

      Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

